MaSBiC Print
Written by liza   
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 07:48



MaSBiC was formed on 18th May 2005 during one of the Bioinformatics Road Map meetings organized by MIMOS Bhd. The first President was YBhg Profesor Dato’ Ir Dr Mashkuri Hj Ya’acob (currently Vice Chancellor of UNITEN). MaSBiC was officially registered by the Registrar of Societies (ROS) on the 8th December 2006.

The first MaSBiC Annual General Meeting was successfully held on 30th March 2007. 




  • To provide opportunities for interaction, discussion and activities (through symposium, workshop, seminar, forum, conference, courses, exhibitions and academic discussions) in enhancing the knowledge and expertise in bioinformatics and computational biology among researchers and students in Malaysia
  • To promote networking and cooperation between local researchers involve in bioinformatics and computational biology with respective international researchers.
  • To disseminate information relating to bioinformatics and computational biology to the public.
  • To increase the awareness of the public regarding the importance and benefits of bioinformatics and computational biology to the country.
  • To raise funds for the society through donation and sponsorship in order for the society to carry out its activities to achieve its objectives.
  • President
Assoc. Prof. Dr Amir Feisal Merican (UM, K. Lumpur)
  • Vice President
Dr Marzalina Mansor (FRIM, Selangor)
  • Secretary
Dr Khairina Tajul Arifin (UKM, Selangor)
  • Treasurer
Dr Habibah Wahab (USM, Pulau Pinang)
Exco Members
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr Suhaimi Napis (UPM, Selangor)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr Naomie Salim (UTM, Johor)
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr Mohd Tajuddin Abdullah (UNIMAS, Sarawak)
  • Dr Clemente Michael Wong Vui Ling (UMS, Sabah)
  • Dr Sarinder Kaur (UM, Kuala Lumpur)
  • Mr Ariffin Kusetiawan Mukandar (IIUM, Selangor)
  • Dr Wan Tarmeze (FRIM, Selangor)
  • Dr Azman Firdaus Shafii (QuantumBeez Sdn Bhd, Selangor)
  • Mr Johan Iskandar (Synamatix Sdn Bhd, Kuala Lumpur)
  • Mr Rozaimi Razali (Genseq Sdn Bhd, Cyberjaya)

Last Updated on Thursday, 02 July 2009 08:06